New Jersey Criminal & Family Law Firm 
Back to Top
We Take a Customized Approach To Each Case Helping You Protect What Matters Most

New Jersey Assault Attorneys

Put 35+ Years of Experience on Your Side

Under the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice, all crimes are defined by statute. Definitions and circumstances for assault charges are found in code section 2C:12-1.

In New Jersey, three types of assault are recognized:

  • Simple assault
  • Aggravated assault
  • Assault by auto or vessel

Accused of assault? Contact the New Jersey assault lawyers who can put up a strong defense. Reach out to Warren-Wentz, LLC at (856) 281-3338.

An Overview of Assault in New Jersey

Assault charges depend on one of two things: either intent to harm or a high level of recklessness. A person can be convicted of assault if it is found that they intentionally threatened or caused bodily harm to another. However, a person can also be charged with assault if they were reckless or if they negligently caused injury with a deadly weapon.

Aggravated assault is a more serious form of assault that involves additional factors:

  • Intentional use of a deadly weapon
  • Pointing a gun at somebody
  • Demonstration of “extreme indifference to the value of human life” during the assault
  • Any assault on a public employee—police officer, fireman, emergency medical services provider, school employee, etc.
  • Causing injury while fleeing an officer of the law or while stealing a vehicle
  • Causing “significant” bodily injury

Assault Charges

Assault charges vary in seriousness from first to fourth degree. Generally, first degree charges are the most serious, resulting in a minimum 10-year sentence if convicted. The maximum sentence for a first-degree crime is 20 years, and fines can be as high as $200,000.

You need a strong defense to affirm evidence of your innocence or argue down to a lower charge. At Warren-Wentz, LLC, we don’t let the prosecution have the last word. We challenge their assumptions every step of the way, so the jury doesn’t take any part of the charges for granted. Our assault defense attorneys in Gloucester County serve all of southern New Jersey. Ask us for a free consultation!

Call Warren-Wentz, LLC at (856) 281-3338 and get a strong defense for your assault charges.

Our Clients Share Their Experience 

The Opinions That Matter
  • His professionalism and attentiveness of his staff gave me the confidence as if I had personally hired a "high profile" attorney.

    - Justin
  • I would highly recommend him. He simplified a complicated case and took the time to explain the whole process thoroughly.

    - Shawn
  • Great lawyer- amazing in the courtroom.

    - Abby